RCCP Connecting Universities

Since 2010 several rural campuses from a variety of universities have benefited from the RCCP project. In 2018 the project RCCP II project team continues to connect universities in South Africa to the Internet. Learn more about the progress and plans.

Connected Sites

Map showing beneficiary sites

Please visit the interactive map for more details.

Sites connected in RCCP I

22 Sites were connected to the SANReN network, at network speeds varying from 50 Mbit/s to 1 Gbit/s. These include:

  • University of Limpopo (UL) – Main campus and Polokwane Campus;
  • Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) – Wellington;
  • University of South Africa (UNISA) – Polokwane, Makhado, Giyani, Richards Bay, Mafikeng, and Polokwane Library Campuses;
  • Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) – Polokwane Campus;
  • University of Kwa-Zulu Natal (UKZN) - Africa Centre – Somkhele;
  • Vaal University of Technology (VUT) – Main Campus and Secunda Campus;
  • Walter Sisulu University of Technology (WSU) - Zamukulungisa Campus;
  • University of Zululand (UNIZULU) – Richards Bay Campus; Main to Richards Bay (fibre); Silo (RB) to Main;
  • Mangosuthu University of technology (MUT) – Main Campus and Failover circuit; Umlazi circuit capacity increase;
  • University of Venda (UNIVEN) - Main Campus; Northern Circuit capacity increase;
  • Vaal University of Technology (VUT)/UNISA – Daveyton Campus.

Sites connected in RCCP II phases 1, 2, and 3

  • University of Pretoria (UP) - UP Mamelodi; UP Mamelodi (diverse connection);
  • Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) - George Campus; Worcester;
  • University of South Africa (UNISA) - Newcastle Campus;
  • University of Cape Town (UCT) - Khayelitsha Clinic; Hanover Park Clinic; Lentegeur Psychiatric Hospitals; Mitchells Plain Community Health Clinic; Vanguard Community Health Clinic;
  • University of the Western Cape (UWC) - Dentistry Faculty;
  • University of Witwatersrand (WITS) - Agincourt Lab, Wits Rural Facility Lodge and Caravella, Acornhoek Tinswalo Hospital and Pullen’s Farm;
  • University of Limpopo (UL) - Nelspruit Campus;
  • University of Mpumalanga (UMP) - MUT Main Campus II; Diverse route (failover);
  • Stellenbosch University (SUN) - Saldanha Military Academy; Worcester Rural Clinical School;
  • University of Venda (UNIVEN) - Vuwani Resource Centre;
  • Rhodes University (RU) - Environmental Biotechnology RI;
  • University of Fort Hare (UFH) - UFH-Hunterstoun Research Centre; and
  • Vaal University of Technology (VUT) - Upington Campus.